Daytime Emmys: Alex Trebek, ‘The Young and the Restless,’ ‘General Hospital’ Among Top Winners

ode blue: “General Hospital” was the big winner of the night at the Daytime Emmy Awards, with five awards, followed by “The Young and the Restless,” with three, and the culinary series “Valerie’s Home Cooking” with two. The syndicated series led the night with seven wins in total, followed by ABC and CBS with five each.

“CBS Sunday Morning” won the best show of the morning, beating “Good Morning America” ​​(which had previously won two in a row), while “Ellen DeGeneres” once again took the entertainment category of the talk shows about last year’s winner, “The Talk.”

However, perhaps the most emotional victory of the night: the presenter of “Jeopardy” Alex Trebek, who recently revealed his battle against pancreatic cancer, won by being an excellent game host.

“The Young and the Restless” won for an outstanding drama, but “General Hospital” recovered in the acting categories, including the lead actor, both support categories and the young lead actress. “Young and the Restless” also won for its writing and direction teams. The rival “Days of Our Lives,” who dominated the Daytime Emmy last year, won just one this year on Sunday.

In addition to Trebek, the winning hosts included Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest as presenters of the entertainment program, while the host of the featured news program featured Kathie Lee Gifford and Hoda Kotb for “Today Show with Kathie Lee & Hoda.” Who has left that show.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), which is separate from the West Coast Television Academy that runs the Primetime Emmys, is behind the Daytime awards. The program is no longer televised (it is only broadcast online), but was held on Sunday at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Pasadena. Mario Lopez (“Extra”) and Sheryl Underwood (“The Talk”) returned as hosts.

The Daytime Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievements in all fields of daytime television and are presented to individuals and broadcast programs from 2:00 a.m. at 6:00 p.m. during the 2018 calendar year.

This year’s awards came a year after a controversy surrounding the administration of Daytime Emmys by NATAS and a boycott threatened by Network TV’s four major telenovelas. NATAS finally revoked the victory of Patrika Darbo in 2018 in the category of guest star in the digital daytime drama about a presentation error, but allowed another victory to be presented with a similar error. “We found ample evidence showing that NATAS inconsistently applied the rules of its 2018 Daytime Emmy Awards competition,” Fletcher, Heald & Hildreth, a Virginia-based law firm, wrote in a report commissioned by NATAS after the show…

The president and CEO of NATAS, Adam Sharp, told Variety last month that he believed the organization had instituted new regulations that addressed neglect. “We began to observe all our practices, to determine where the situations were appearing, without any real intention, we were creating injustice,” he said. But others said they believed that some of the new procedures, including the decision not to publish more video clip presentations for the public to see, were more organization-oriented to save face rather than to institute impartiality.

“I just think if there’s smoke, there’s fire,” Darbo told Variety. “There are still things that are happening that should not be happening there, there are still many inequalities there.”

NATAS plans to launch another study, noting how this year’s Daymy Emmy adapted to these concerns and where it should still make further improvements in the coming months.

Earlier on Friday, at the Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, CBS took home 12 awards, with “The Young and the Restless” making five wins, while Variety also caught Emmy for his series “Actors on Actors.” In addition, chef Jacques Pepin and “Judge Judy” Sheindlin were recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award. (In one of the biggest surprises of Sunday night, Amy Poehler showed up to give her award to Sheindlin.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *